European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) Programmes

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) programmes are international programmes that aim at the economic and social development of the European regions.

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is the goal of EU cohesion policy that aims to solve problems across borders and to jointly develop the potential of diverse territories.

Aims & Objectives

ETC cooperation actions are supported by the European Regional Development Fund through four components or strands:

  • cross-border cooperation
  • transnational cooperation
  • interregional cooperation and
  • outermost regions' cooperation.

In 2021-2027, Ireland will take part in seven ETC funding programmes:

What does it support?

Priorities will be specific to each programme but broad policy objectives across all ETC programmes include contributing to a:

  • Smarter Europe
  • Greener, carbon- free Europe
  • More connected Europe
  • More social Europe
  • Europe closer to citizens

Organisations join a transnational/ interregional partnership across a number of Member States from the programme’s eligible area to carry out project activities.  

Open Calls

Find open calls for ETC Programmes.

View the latest funding from the EU