Interreg North-West Europe

The Interreg North-West Europe (NWE) Programme fosters transnational cooperation to make Northwestern Europe a key economic player and an attractive place to work and live, with high levels of innovation, sustainability and cohesion.

Aims & Objectives

The Interreg NWE Programme is part of the European Territorial Cooperation Objective supported by the European Regional Development Fund.

The Programme encourages public, scientific, private and civil society organisations to cooperate with a view to promote a green, smart and just transition for all NWE territories.

The aim is to support a balanced development and make all regions more resilient. The Programme co-finances these organisations to work together in transnational projects on specific themes.

Seven countries belong to the Interreg North-West Europe Programme area: Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, The Netherlands and Switzerland.

What does it support?

The Interreg North-West Europe Programme for 2021-2027 focusses on five main funding priorities or themes:

  • Climate and environment​
  • Energy transition​
  • Circular Economy​
  • Innovation and resilience​
  • ​Inclusive society

Each of these priorities are sub-divided into Specific Objectives (SO).

The Programme developed factsheets for each SO with a summary of the territorial challenges and opportunities, objectives, target groups, activities, and results.

All factsheets are available here.

Who can apply?

The Programme targets all or parts of seven participating countries, including six EU Member States (Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) and the non-Member State Switzerland.

A wide range of public and private (non-profit and profit making) organisations are welcomed to take part in NWE project partnerships including national, regional and local authorities, universities, Research & Development centres, SMEs and business support organisations (BSOs), sectoral associations, NGOs, lobby organisations and citizens groups.

Projects should bring together at least three partners from three different countries (usually more) of which two need to be from within the NWE Programme area.


€ 310 million over 7 years.

Project Examples

Sustainable Housing for Inclusive and Cohesive Cities

ECCO - Creating new Local Energy Community Cooperatives


National Contact Point in Ireland

Southern Regional Assembly is the national contact point for Interreg NWE in Ireland.

Open Calls

Find open calls for Interreg North-West Europe.

Want to find out more?

Interreg North-West Europe website

Sign up for the Interreg North-West Europe newsletter

Join the Interreg NWE Online Community

Social Media

Follow Interreg NWE on Twitter

Follow Southern Regional Assembly on Twitter

View the latest funding from the EU